Moodboard Monday: The Aubergine Fix

18

January 28, 2013 by Decorum DIYer

Since I shamelessly showed you my no-style, hum-drum, boring master bedroom last week, I’ve been busy daydreaming what my ‘finished’ master bedroom would look like, if I had my way, a decent budget, and time to do it all.

I call it, “The Aubergine Fix” because the aubergine color is one that I have been fixated upon for quite a while.  Also, it fixes, or solves, my dilemma of what to do with my boring bedroom.  No one can say a bedroom with an aubergine ceiling is boring, can he/she?

OB-Aubergine Fix1

The Aubergine Fix

I can’t keep a smile off of my face looking at this moodboard.  I am swoooooning over this one.  I’ve always decorated my rooms with practically nothing.  I repaint, repurpose, and beg, borrow, and steal embrace inspiration from everything I see that strikes a chord with me. Choosing fabric, ordering new (not just ‘new’ to me) items, and having semi-permanent decor is usually not within my budget, nor timeframe.  I really would like my master bedroom to be the first bedroom that I approach with a real decorator’s hand.  I know I am not a decorator, but I just want to see if I can do it.

That said, I am going to make a go of it (eventually).  I value everyone’s opinion and I know that most of you suggested a lighter wall color for the walls, but I think the walls just may stay the shade they are, or maybe even darker.

One thing is for sure, I CRAVE A DARKER CEILING!  The color I am currently crushing on is ‘Caponata’ by Benjamin Moore.

201606520791120562_SNcBbNBw_b

I know I have a small master bedroom and I know that I only have an 8 feet tall ceiling, “…but, Daddy, I want it!  I want it now!”  I think I’ll need to find a way to create a faux tray ceiling with molding and possibly stencil the same.  I even like the idea of adorning the ceiling with aged, brass tacks along the stencil lines.  Just a thought.

Since my husband is in love with our current wall color and I think the master bathroom will stay orange (even if it changes to a slightly different shade – Behr’s ‘Acorn Spice’?), I needed to find a way to make  yellow/gold, orange, and purple work together.  After all, my tiny master bedroom and master bathroom are in such close proximity with almost no division but simple trim and a bypass door (for now).  I’ll admit saying that my master bedroom is yellow, orange, and purple sounds like an homage to Mardi Gras.  I think I prefer a more organic vibe: gold/saffron, rust/copper, and eggplant, perhaps?  That sounds better already.  Moving on….

I was drawn to the these fabrics as well:

201606520791120279_A85M1h4N_b-1

Roman shades for both windows. Maybe a matching pillow?  Of course, I’d like to find some second-hand roman shades in the interim.  Either way, roman shades to be hung outside of the window’s frame and from the height of drapes, near the ceiling line.

201606520791120250_NFSb8JhM_b

Drapes behind the bed (not on the side window).

201606520791120261_5Wl1WxSN_b

Accent pillow.

201606520791120237_e61kSEi2_b

Accent pillows.

Although most people prefer a light, fresh, airy feeling in their bedrooms, I like to feel as though I am enveloped by a soft, dark, cocoon.  Darker colors and furnishings help me foster a sense of security. (I guess I should also mention here that I don’t like distractions from sleeping (or other things, eh em) in my bedroom.  I firmly believe that the television does not belong in one’s bedroom.)

My husband saw the moodboard and loves all of the ideas:  the darker ceiling, the lighting, the black, distressed furniture, and the subtle Asian and Moroccan vibes.  Good thing we think alike when it comes to the boudoir.  (I realize you could take that many ways. 😉 )

The point is, I am not afraid to fail with my decor decisions anymore.  If I make a mistake, I can always rework my plan.  I need to follow my instinct and let it guide me.  Decor is personal.  I appreciate all color schemes and styles, but I think darker hues and a traditional style, with a slightly global slant, are where I feel most comfortable.

Here’s a little glimpse into my little world of master bedroom cravings via my Pinterest board:

color-trends-vintage-wine-room-paint-colors1

(Via Lushome)
I adore the darker, purplish ceiling, golden walls, and medallion on the ceiling.

IA_int_orange_bedroom2_1200x880-1024x750

(Via ‘Color Chats’ and Benjamin Moore.)
Love that the dark purple is on the ceiling (sort of) and that is paired with the pumpkin orange (you know, like my bathroom).

(Via 'Eye for Design blog)This has all of the colors I love in one spot.  Also, I love the moorish panels behind the bed.  Closet doors perhaps?

(Via ‘Eye for Design blog)
This has all of the colors I love in one spot. Also, I love the moorish panels behind the bed. Closet doors perhaps? (I think this room is begging for a darker, purple ceiling, don’t you?)

(Via 'Inspirations Paint')The mix of gold and purple.

(Via ‘Inspirations Paint’)
The mix of gold and purple.

(Via BHG)What isn't to love?  The placement of everything.  Although the room has windows to either side of the bed, I appreciate the symmetry.

(Via BHG)
What isn’t to love? The placement of everything. Although the room has windows to either side of the bed, I appreciate the symmetry, style and autumnal tones.

(Via 'The Yellow Cape Cod')A distressed, black dresser.

(Via ‘The Yellow Cape Cod’)
A distressed, black dresser.

I don’t have any immediate plans to conquer the master bedroom.  Just dreaming, for now.  I’ve been rearranging our master closet and need to start painting our trim.  I think those two things will help me focus my design direction.  I’d like to finish Roman’s room before delving into the master bedroom.

So, any thoughts? Don’t worry, you won’t offend me, if you hate it. After all, like I said, a person’s bedroom is a very personal space.  It is where one is most vulnerable, but also most at home.  I think a person’s bedroom should compliment its owner(s).

Until next time…, happy decorating.

Iinspired150Elizabeth & Co.

moodboardlinkpartydyd_zpsb2f7dbf5Design Your Dwelling

 

18 thoughts on “Moodboard Monday: The Aubergine Fix

  1. I seriously love this and this is another one of my favorite mood boards that you’ve created! I really feel that you just let yourself go. And it’s great that your husband likes it, too! Knowing you, I know you can create this look for less. I love the orange color and totally understanding wanting to make your bedroom a cocoon : ] I especially love how you created a bit of a Moroccan feel without being in-your-face about it. No kitsch here!

    I’m planning on doing some work to my master bedroom, too, and will be making a mood board for it. Lemme know if you’re interested in taking a stab at it, too. I’d love to see what you’d put together cause honestly I’m a bit stumped. And like you, I sorta just want to throw out the rules I’ve created for myself and just let myself go and have fun!

  2. The Wangs says:

    Love the inspiration! Another color you might want to look at is Benjamin Moore’s Almost Black, and Vintage Wine….

  3. Suzz says:

    My first thought is that you need to consider “reframing” how you feel about your current bedroom … at least make it interesting, say … We haven’t had a chance to redesign our Master Bedroom for all the ootthheerr activitiessss we’ve had going on in there … now that my inner-6th grader has voiced her opinion…

    I LOVE the idea of “eggplant” and “saffron” or some version of these colors. I LOVE bold colos (ahem, detest pastels) and think thes are a great combination, especially considering that yellow and purple are contrasting colors.

    Purple is my favorite color – all shades – but I especially love darker colors and we have a purple accent wall in our bedroom that we both love.

    I look forward to seeing future developments!

    • Or, by perhaps stating, “My bedroom should be as exciting as the activities that have occurred within the confines of the space.” Your inner 6th grader is accepted, although, for me it would probably be more like my inner 10th grader. Sure, I had ‘the talk’, but I didn’t really understand things until high school.

      You and I seem to be linked with our hearts and heads. Thanks for supporting my suspicions that this could be a great bedroom, even if it is darker than most. I, too, am not much of a pastel person. That said, I don’t mind it for children. Clearly, you’ve seen Claire’s room.

      • Suzz says:

        HAHA!! Too funny – I totally struggled with what grade my “inner voice” was … I went with the grade most associated with being juvenile – I have no idea when I started learning those kinds of things.

  4. Oh Christine I just love this. Not that I personally love every single one of your choices, but I love that they are YOUR choices and that you aren’t afraid of picking things for your home that suit you. That’s who its for..right? When I first heard you talk about this dark ceiling in your previous post I was a little nervous, but that picture your provided really makes me get it. We actually have a chocolate brown/gold trace ceiling in my dining room and I LOVE IT! I don’t know why for even a second I questioned you wanting to do it in your master. Make your boudoir your own! PS, I really DIG the play on a Moroccan theme!

  5. cassie says:

    i love how you have it paired with a burnt orange- it looks beautiful! and i like aubergine because i like to just say it…. sounds fancy! oh, this old thing, it’s just my aubergine sweater. 🙂

  6. I saw the picture of the distressed black dresser from the yellow cape cod and went “ahhhh!” That’s our pin-inspiration for re-doing our main table (we nabbed chairs on Craigslist – – yes, we did! – – that are in that same style). Anyway, less about me, more about you – – I would have thought Mardi Gras, too, with the eggplant and gold, but the images you pulled for your Moodboard and the example rooms are just loverly! Especially the one with the moorish panels; so elegant, yet comfortable looking. I think this vision you have is not only going to work, but work well!

    I love how you already have such a strong sense of what your tastes and design eye is drawn to. That’s where I struggle…I feel like I’m just started to discern what that is for me and for us as a couple! I suppose that will come with time and experience.

    Can’t wait to see the next phases of this bedroom.

    • Thanks, Lauren. I can’t wait to see your table and chairs! Great project for you. You know, when I typed Mardi Gras, I started singing “Karma Chameleon” (red, gold, and green) in my head for some reason. Glad you understood my lame reference. I’d like to see the next phase of this bedroom as well. 😉

  7. Aw, this board has me feeling nostalgic (but in a good way). I once decorated my living room in a bright plum (more saturated than your choice, which I also love). At first I used orange, red, magenta, & metallic gold to accent.You’ve made some great choices here and I love the painted ceiling trend. Can’t wait to see how you pull it all together!

  8. […] to cuddle.  I placed our console/foyer table behind our sofa and stole my painted lamps from my master bedroom to create ‘the nest’.  I’m smitten with the cross-stiched birds, but not too […]

  9. […] you liked this post, come check out the related moodboard post for the master […]

  10. […] you liked this post, come check out the related moodboard post for the master […]

  11. Hi! Thanks for linking up for the mood board link party! 🙂

  12. Cynthia says:

    Came over from Simply Southern to get a closer look! I do love the vibe, I “live” there too. Especially “agree” with the panels for closet, the drapery fabric and light fixtures posted on your board. I hope you are thinking long panels for the drapes! As much as I’d love to suggest stenciling the walls, I think that is too much, but doing the bathroom in a metallic glaze morrocan style stencil over current paint would be awesome, fast and a fun change. Yes, paint bed black! Also, have you considered angling it into the corner? Did that once in a tiny master and it seemed to live larger. We used a tall folding screen behind it to extend the headboard and anchor the rooms vibe. Looking forward to the finished project.

  13. […] (No, well you can check out my baby steps here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and oh here.  Yeah, those should keep you […]

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn\'t be any easier!

Join 327 other subscribers

Top Posts & Pages

Moodboard Monday:  "Craigslist Hunting" BBT Style
Maybe 2015 is the year of the "finished" unfinished basement?
I'm Floored!
Craigslist:  A Love Story
Moodboard Monday: I <3 Ikat

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Saw Nail and Paint

Lovingly refinished furniture, vintage and thrifted home decor, urban farming and city chickens

Little Victorian

DIY Interior Design

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...Making up my own directions (very often adventuring the long-way) since 2008.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

WELCOME TO BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

Laura Makes

Laura enjoys making many things

Diane Gudat

tap dance fun!