Moodboard Monday: “Craigslist Hunting” BBT Style

1

November 5, 2012 by Decorum DIYer

Good Monday, all!  I took a week-long hiatus.  So sorry, if you missed me, but I have been one busy and tired girl.  In the next few days, I’ll share some of the things that have been keeping me busy.

Back to today’s post: a moodboard inspired by the crazy, mathematical ramblings (well, quantum mechanics, actually) of a genius brain on a blackboard a la “Good Will Hunting” and “Big Bang Theory” (also known as BBT).  I recently read this article and was smitten with this chalkboard:

Blackboards of the Quantum Physics department.

My nerdy senses are tingling, aren’t yours?

So, what is a decor obsessed nerd to do with this information?

Well, create a moodboard of course!

Before we get started, allow me to remind you of my self-imposed moodboard rules.  Only the following items may be used in creating the moodboard:

  1. paint
  2. free items
  3. items found on my local Craigslist (remember to click the images to be directly linked to the Craigslist ads!)
  4. a pinch imagination and diy craftiness!

Here is what my geeky, little mind has envisioned:

“Craigslist Hunting” BBT Style Moodboard (Click image to be linked to Olioboard to shop this look.)

This bedroom has everything a science-obsessed teenager needs.

This particular room is for a boy, but don’t worry, I’ll be sharing my girl’s version with you later.

 So, let’s break it down show our work!

Firstly, I decided that the room should have an eclectic, vintage vibe.

Think a 1960’s school’s physics lab.  Also, I felt a strong pull to the color green.

Here is the paint color I chose:

Behr’s ‘Boston Fern’ (Pretty interesting that we are talking ‘quantum physics’ and Boston is one of the meccas for scientific education/endeavors.)

Next layer is the room’s rug:

13′ x 9′ traditional, green rug: $125

After choosing the paint and finding the rug, I knew I needed more textiles in the way of draperies.

I like these panels for both the color scheme, mix of pattern against the scrolled, traditional rug, and the ‘geek chic’ plaid:

Several panels of plaid drapes, valance, and drapery hardware: $100

Next up, the furniture.

I, for some reason, saw this room as an expansive attic space. Sort of a mad-scientist-in-the-making’s lair.

I piled in the furniture goodies.

A wood bed and matching hutch: $50

Twin-sized comforter for bed : $25

Fitted sheet, flat sheet, and pillow cases with a solar system theme :$20 (posting expired)

The remainder of the solar system sheets included with the expired listing above.

Some ‘geeky chic’ argyle sweaters…, s-w-o-o-n! Of course, a nerdilicious person could wear these, but I’d prefer that they be transformed as pillow covers.: $10

Matching hutch – sorry, posting has expired. 😦

A side table to be used as a night stand:

MCM end table: $40

Just what every nerdling needs, a drafting table with industrial light – $75

Industrial, drafting stool : $60 (posting has expired)

And the room’s essential for reaching  ‘epic level’ nerdom:

Four chairs and round table for study sessions and role play games: $30

The ’round’ table.

Now, for some fun accessories!

Dungeons and Dragons, anyone? : $50

A true slate blackboard : $25

No blackboard slate would be complete without these lovely chalk etchings duplicated for some nerdy flair. (Free)

Science fiction magazine collection : $40

Six rare records that include: Star Trek, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Star Wars, etc…: $100 (posting already deleted 😥 )

Telescope: $55

Two beakers to be used for their intended purpose or as pencil/pen holders: $10

1964 Lighted Globe: $60

Vintage desk lamp: $15

Lighted Magnifier – perfect for inspecting insects or constructing miniature models: $45

“Soft Kitty, Warm Kitty” tee-shirt – could be worn or placed in a frame and hung as art work (homage to Sheldon)- $14

A slew of free printables from Vintage Printables : FREE (All topics and subjects provided. For this room, I would choose different science discipline images and use as artwork.)

“Craigslist Hunting” BBT Style Budget Breakdown:

  • one gallon of Behr’s ‘Bostern Fern’ paint – $35
  • 13′ x 9′ rug – $125
  • drapery and hardware – $100
  • twin bed and hutch – $50
  • twin-sized comforter – $25
  • sheet sets – $20
  • argyle sweaters (for pillow covers) – $10
  • mcm side table/night stand – $40
  • drafting table and lamp – $75
  • industrial stool – $60
  • four chairs and round table – $30
  • ‘Dungeons and Dragons’ – $50
  • real slate blackboard – $25
  • science fiction magazine collection – $40
  • six rare science fiction record collection – $100
  • telescope – $55
  • beakers – $10
  • 1964 lighted globe – $60
  • vintage desk lamp – $15
  • lighted magnifier – $45
  • “Warm Kitty, Soft Kitty” tee-shirt (for artwork) – $14
  • artwork from Vintage Printables – FREE

Total budget: $984.00

Wow!  Being a nerd is expensive!  To be honest, I have a soft spot in my heart (and head) for nerdiness.  I’m not smart enough to be a nerd myself, but I really do enjoy all of the geeky goodness.  Because of my affinity for such nerdy things, I really loaded up on the expensive nerd accessories.  I couldn’t help myself!

I hope you have enjoyed this exploration of my “Craigslist Hunting” BBT Style bedroom, as inspired by a series of quantum mechanics’ blackboards.

Until next time…, happy Craigslisting!

One thought on “Moodboard Monday: “Craigslist Hunting” BBT Style

  1. […] today I shared with you my “Craigslist Hunting” BBT Style moodboard.  I had recently read this article, was smitten with the below chalkboard, and […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 330 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Little Victorian

"Decorating is about creating a quality of life." A Hadley

Letting Go of Keeping Up

Keeping up...it's overrated

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...But don't worry. There's a plan. A 8-year plan filled with bumps, hiccups, and plenty of adventures.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

Rugs and Interior Design at NW Rugs in Portland, Los Angeles and Las Vegas

Area Rugs and Interior Design Inspiration, Tips and Advice

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

exscapes.wordpress.com/

A DIY, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Simplicity, Mindfulness Blog

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

