Thrifty Thursday: Yet More Thrift Shop Finds

4

February 7, 2013 by Decorum DIYer

Since visiting a local thrift store for Young House Love’s (YHL) Thrift Store Challenge, I’ve visited the same, hidden thrift store a few times.  Each time I shop there, I see several things, think them over, and then scurry back hoping that they are still available.

Well, luckily for me, this particular thrift store is a bit of a secret, as it is housed in an abandoned Royal Farms store that looks as though it is still boarded up.  Odd and it sounds more shady than it really is, but great for my frugality and indecision.

(I often struggle with wants versus needs and put off purchasing items I see the first time, despite my impulse to buy.)

So, this last time I visited, I spent only $8.00, but found some items that were haunting my decorating mind since my first visit.

Here are my goodies:

A pair of cross-stitched birds sweetly framed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A couple of coordinating vases:

These vases are not an identical match in terms of scene, nor size, but I like that they are similar in terms of subject matter and coloration.

These vases are not an identical match in terms of scene, nor size, but I like that they are similar in terms of subject matter and coloration.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pheasants, perhaps?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m sure these are nothing special. I just like them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty peacocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quite blurry, but you can see that both vases were made in Japan, but by different manufacturers.

Apparently, I have a bird fetish when decorating. Who knew?

I’m thinking these sweet creatures could find a nice little home in my bird sanctuary living room.  I am so pleased that these lovely items didn’t fly the coop before I could cage them.

I’d like to change up the mantle and fireplace wall a bit and these are the perfect jumping off point.

So, anyone else on a thrift store kick, since the challenge?

Until next time…, happy thrifting!

4 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday: Yet More Thrift Shop Finds

  1. I love those vases! Lotsa times I’ll see something and fall in love with it but really don’t have a place in my home for it OR I know it doesn’t really match with my overall design esthetic. I always always fall in love with almost every piece of ceramic I come across.

    • I know what you mean. Although, if you find that you are drawn to the same sort of thing (theme, design, color, etc…), I’d pay attention. Maybe your inner decorator is trying to tell you something. I don’t really have anything in my living room right now. My kids have sort of kept me from placing any breakables out on tables and shelves.

  2. Ha ha! Thinking of your living room as a bird sanctuary makes me smile. Wish I had time to do this challenge. We’re going to be out of town this weekend, so alas, I don’t think it’s in the cards. I’ll just have to live vicariously through you and your amazing thrift store finds.

  3. […] other change, that makes me smile the most is that I found a little nest for my thrift store birds to cuddle.  I placed our console/foyer table behind our sofa and stole my painted lamps from my […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 330 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Little Victorian

"Decorating is about creating a quality of life." A Hadley

Keeping Up With Mrs. Smith

It all started with a fixer-upper...

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...But don't worry. There's a plan. A 8-year plan filled with bumps, hiccups, and plenty of adventures.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

Rugs and Interior Design at NW Rugs in Portland, Los Angeles and Las Vegas

Area Rugs and Interior Design Inspiration, Tips and Advice

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

exscapes.wordpress.com/

A DIY, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Simplicity, Mindfulness Blog

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

