Three Little Monkeys Jumping On The Bed…

10

August 1, 2013 by Decorum DIYer

Don’t worry, no one fell off the bed and bumped his/her head – yet.

For the record, this is the reason my bed is seldom made.

For the record, this is the reason my bed is seldom made.

Yes, there are three children there.  Roman is the one hiding under the top sheet.

Cheeky devil.

In an effort to jazz up my boudoir, I’ve been feverishly working around the clock to make it all happen with the smallest of budgets and an even smaller window of time.

{I don’t know how others do it.}

Here is where we currently are in the process (Please, tolerate my awful photography.):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I still have a ton to do.

And while these photographs may not look like much to you,

they are quite a transformation from this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, you may notice the elephant in the room…, yeah, THAT bed.

I purchased the bed from Overstock for $200 in 2005.  It sat in the basement of my first house, in the box, in anticipation of one day being a part of our master bedroom.

Then, the opportunity to purchase my husband’s paternal grandparents’ house arose, and we decided to hold off on putting the bed together until we moved to our new home.

Don’t get me wrong, there is so much I love about this bed.

{You can read another post about our bed and some of my progress here.}

But, the one thing I love most are the four posts.  Sadly, it is the fact that the bed has four posts jutting into the tiny space of our master bedroom that is the problem.

{That and my kids love to pretend that they are firefighter poles.  [I guess that is better than the other kind of pole?]}

I considered chopping off the posts (since they are not removable like most four-post beds).  {If you look closely in the updated, progress photographs, you will see my blue tape indicating the location for cuts.}

But, husband said, “No!”  I can’t argue with that.  I’m afraid of destroying the bed with ill-placed/executed cuts as well.

So,  a ‘new’ bed it is.

I have been scouring Craigslist for an inexpensive replacement.  And by inexpensive, I mean $100 or less.  Impossible?  Probably.

But like Lloyd Christmas’s character in “Dumb and Dumber” (Go ahead, click the link and watch a little of one of my favorite movies.  It’s okay, I’ll wait.  Just make sure you come back for my thrilling post conclusion.)

Did you hear that?  One in a MILLION!  So, yeah, I’m going to try my best.

In the meantime, allow me to remind you of my bed requirements:

  • must be a dark-stained, wooden bed (after removing all of the wood tones in the room, I think a wooden bed is necessary for many reasons)
  • must have both a headboard (quite tall to fit just under the window and so it is tight against the wall) and a footboard (footboards help keep the bedding in place and serve as a visual and mental barrier)
  • must have a curvy shape – not a rectangle (too many rectangles in the room already)
  • NO POSTS!  (I think that was implied, but I just wanted to make this point clear.)
  • must be a queen-sized bed.  Anything bigger would not comfortably fit into the room.  Besides, I’m a snuggle bunny.

~

So, here is what I have seen thus far on Craigslist.

Some are in my budget.

Some are missing parts.

But, I want your input regarding the direction to go.

I want a darker wood, so I am open to finding the right style/shape bed and painting and/or staining for a darker wood look.

bedstyle

I have my favorite, but I’m not telling.

Here are the links to the current ads, just to keep you completely informed.

#1, #2, #3, #4, #5

What is your vote?

Thank you for your input.

Please feel free to comment below with any other suggestions or supplements to your vote.

10 thoughts on “Three Little Monkeys Jumping On The Bed…

  1. I personally only like 2 & 3… #2 the best but I voted for #3 because it looks like it has a bamboo detail and you seem to favor that in your decorating. However, after I voted I clicked and it’s not a bamboo detail so my vote should be for #2. LOL.

  2. Artzzle says:

    Ooh, I like the dark color and streaks in the first one! But looks like it’s over your budget. Talk them down … specially if it’s been there a while. Good luck!

    • Me, too! I like the way you think, with regards to ‘talking them down’. Wish me luck!

      • Keep your fingers crossed for me. I’m in a negotiations with #1 (pending husband’s approval, of course – it is his room, too). Although, when I asked his opinion, he answered, “I love whichever bed you’re in.” {Smart man. Smart man.}

  3. I love #1. I could see #4 being stained darker too. I just love the dark wood and curvy lines! Great direction you are going in. Too bad you old bed isn’t working out. She is a real beauty too.

  4. […] my little poll wherein I asked which bed would best fit my […]

  5. […] going on in the master bedroom. (No, well you can check out my baby steps here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and oh here.  Yeah, those should keep you […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 329 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Saw Nail and Paint

Lovingly refinished furniture, vintage and thrifted home decor, urban farming and city chickens

Little Victorian

"Decorating is about creating a quality of life." A Hadley

Letting Go of Keeping Up

Keeping up...it's overrated

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...But don't worry. There's a plan. A 8-year plan filled with bumps, hiccups, and plenty of adventures.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

Rugs and Interior Design at NW Rugs in Portland, Los Angeles and Las Vegas

Area Rugs and Interior Design Inspiration, Tips and Advice

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

exscapes.wordpress.com/

A DIY, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Simplicity, Mindfulness Blog

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

