A Sneak Peek Into My Past Week

4

May 13, 2013 by Decorum DIYer

Good Monday morning, all!

This past week has been crazy busy for our family.  We celebrated our son’s 7th birthday, attended many dance rehearsals, our daughter’s FIRST dance recital, and of course, celebrated Mother’s Day.

Our son, Roman, is 7.  I still can’t believe it.  How did that tiny, little baby that I brought home from the hospital turn into such a big boy?  Bittersweet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He recently also lost his front, top teeth. To illustrate both his silliness and lack of incisors, he thought it would be funny to adorn his real teeth adjacent to void with kernels of corn. Yes, he has no shame, just like his Mama.

HAPPY 7TH BIRTHDAY, SWEET ROMAN!

Here he is ready to blow out his candle.  His favorite Carvel ice cream cake (double chocolate) ready for all to enjoy.

Here he is ready to blow out his candle. His favorite Carvel ice cream cake (double chocolate) ready for all to enjoy.

And of course, we also celebrated Clairisse’s first dance recital.  It was a joy to share the stage with my daughter.  I think she is a bit of a ‘born star’ as her Mama.

Here is Claire taking in the fame during the dress rehearsal.  She was so mesmerized with the stage and the audience, that she simply forgot why she was on stage. She did manage to smile like the Cheshire Cat all along. [Please disregard my annoying commentary and ‘dance mother’ prodding.]

She dazzled us with her ballerina moves during the recital though.  😉

Here she is backstage ready for the show to start.  I love this little girl.  As much as I try not to be the typical stage mother, there is a part of me that hopes she enjoys dancing as much as I do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just to keep things fair all around, here is a little picture of Ascher doing his best to outshine big brother and sister:

How cute is he?

How cute is he?

Of course, all of this running around as of late means that there simply is no time for a moodboard this Monday.  I’m fine with that.  I hope you are, too.  I adore my children and it was really wonderful sharing such milestones with them this week.

I hope you and your families are enjoying each other’s company and not taking every precious moment for granted.  Like I tell my children, “You only get one mother and father and they only get one YOU!”

4 thoughts on “A Sneak Peek Into My Past Week

  1. That has to be one of the sweetest dance recitals ever!! That seriously just made my day. She was very intent on staying on her mark, wasn’t she? Haha! I’ve said it before, but you have the cutest patootiest kids!!

    I know how you feel about the birthdays, too. My ‘baby’ is going to be 15 this year! How is that possible? I just brought her home from the hospital yesterday, I swear! Those milestone birthdays get me. I’m so happy for her, proud of her, glad she’s growing-up into this wonderful person but it’s still a little stab in my heart.

  2. Oh my goodness. THANK YOU for sharing that precious video with us. Not only was my heart warmed by Clarisse, so enamored by the audience and yet so focused on staying on her spot, but I delighted to hear your ACTUAL voice after imagining it for so long. It’s just as bright and lively as pictured. 😉

    Sounds like you had a marvelous weekend with some really great family time. Happy birthday to your ham, Roman, congrats to your ballerina, Clarisse, and Ascher gets a big virtual hug from me for being so darned cute. Look at that smile! You really are blessed, Christine.

    Happy belated Mothers’ Day to you, too!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 329 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Saw Nail and Paint

Lovingly refinished furniture, vintage and thrifted home decor, urban farming and city chickens

Little Victorian

"Decorating is about creating a quality of life." A Hadley

Letting Go of Keeping Up

Keeping up...it's overrated

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...But don't worry. There's a plan. A 8-year plan filled with bumps, hiccups, and plenty of adventures.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

Rugs and Interior Design at NW Rugs in Portland, Los Angeles and Las Vegas

Area Rugs and Interior Design Inspiration, Tips and Advice

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

exscapes.wordpress.com/

A DIY, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Simplicity, Mindfulness Blog

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

