A One, Two Punch for Rocky’s ‘Adrienne’

4

March 14, 2013 by Decorum DIYer

Okay, so maybe Rocky’s wife’s name was actually spelled ‘Adrian’, but I couldn’t help myself.  (And yes, I am currently soft-screaming ‘Adriaaaaan’ a la Rocky.)

Recently I received the below message from a very different Adrienne in my e-mail’s inbox:

Hello!
Can I first say that I love your blog and your mood boards! You have such a great eye for style!! I was wondering about your mood boards? Could you do a mood board for bedroom? We just moved in and know that we want to do navy and white, but that’s where we are lacking. We need a mood board to pull it all together!! Please let me know if you have any advice or could create a mood board.
I’m so excited!! thanks!!!

Adrienne, TN
Unfortunately, Adrienne contacted me during the midst of the ‘great stomach flu of 2013’ here in our humble abode.  Everyone, but my husband fell victim.  It was NOT pretty. So, I let Adrienne know that it would be a little while before I was in full-on moodboard mode.
Then, I received this:
Christine,
That’s absolutely fine!! No rush whatsoever! Stomach bugs are mean and vicious and I’m soo sorry it hit your family!
I must confess that after seeing your mood board “Dignified Dining” my jaw dropped! How breathtaking!!  I would live in that room. Eat, sleep, live in that room! 🙂 Um, my bedroom can wait, I gotta have you do my living room! its the first room you see when you enter and I would looove for you to do a mood board for my living room!!!
Im going to go home tonight and get all the yummy dimensions and everything and maybe narrow down my pinterest pictures for inspiration and send them your way, but you cant look at them until you are 100% well cause I know that it stinks not feeling good!!
thanks soooo much!!!! Im excited!!!
Wow!
Talk about a boost to my ego and what enthusiasm!
Even I was excited for her!
So, Adrienne is a girl who knows what she likes.
The problem?
Well, she has accumulated ‘things’ that she loves, but just isn’t sure how to put them together.
Sounds like most of us, right?
This is her living room, as it is now:
Adrienne's Living Room

Adrienne’s Living Room

As you can see, the living room has two large openings, one on two of the four walls.

The room also has a wall of windows, which face the street.

The only unobstructed wall is the far wall seen above.

Here is a floor plan that Adrienne whipped up just for us:

nevinlivingroom

She’s pretty talented, no?  Anyway, the room is attractive and well-appointed, but the large wall openings, and wall-of-windows present difficulty arranging furniture, as the traffic pattern divides the room into thirds.

Adrienne completed my ‘moodboard questionnaire’ and we arrived at the following criteria:

  1. The two chairs are inspiration pieces and must stay in the room.chairback
  2. Adrienne has already ordered a new rug for this room, so it is also a permanent fixture.rug2
  3. The gold and brass eterge`s can stay or go.  My gut tells me they should stay.  She is obviously drawn to them and instinctively placed them in the living room.  Then, I found out they are Ikea hacks.  She spray-painted them herself. So, stay they shall!NevinLivingroomwall1_third
  4. The living room must incorporate navy blue to tie into the dining room which will one day have navy, grasscloth wallpaper.
  5. Adrienne was very clear that she loves blue, grays, and neutrals – but NOT all-brown rooms.  Furthermore, she stated that she HATES warm tones, specifically red, purple, orange, and yellow.
  6. Interestingly, she has a fondness for brass and gold.
  7. Adrienne describes her style as traditional.  She also offered up her love of Pottery Barn and Ballards.  She, like me, isn’t fond of their price tags, though.
  8. The living room will be used as a place to hang out, technology-free, and to entertain guests.
  9. Adrienne likes abstract art.

To quote Adrienne:

“The style I would love for this room is pretty, “rustic glam”, a bit of neutrals, but pops of living room glamour, if you will.  Pops of crystals and shine, but with grey and neutral tones.”

Here are a few inspirational images provided by Adrienne.
My apologies, I do not have sources for any, but I must be clear that these are not my, nor Adrienne’s, images.
pinterest1 pinterest2 pinterest3 pinterest4
So, stay tuned, as I will be featuring Adrienne’s living room in this week’s Moodboard Monday!
4 thoughts on “A One, Two Punch for Rocky’s ‘Adrienne’

  1. I agree with Adrienne 😉 You do have knack for this sort of thing! Also, I love that Great Blue Heron picture. I know that’s an ‘inspiration’ piece, but it’s really pretty. I’ll be anxious to see what you have on Monday.

    • Thanks for you confidence in me! I was drawn to that as well, but I think Adrienne is drawn to that for the colors – or at least I hope so, as she told me she likes abstract art (biting nails). Be sure to check back on Monday!

  2. She sounds like such a sweet gal! And speaking of sweet gals, I think it’s AWESOME that you have offered your moodboard services for free right now to your readers. So generous. I can only imagine how much time and effort you pour into each one of these….

    Anyway, I’m eager to see what you whip up for Adrienne. And how many more Rocky references you intertwine. (Ha ha.)

    P.S. That IKEA hack is awesome. Glad to hear it’s staying!

  3. […] week, I shared with you that I was creating a moodboard for dear Adrienne and showed you her living room in desperate need of some […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 329 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Saw Nail and Paint

Lovingly refinished furniture, vintage and thrifted home decor, urban farming and city chickens

Little Victorian

"Decorating is about creating a quality of life." A Hadley

Letting Go of Keeping Up

Keeping up...it's overrated

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...But don't worry. There's a plan. A 8-year plan filled with bumps, hiccups, and plenty of adventures.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

Rugs and Interior Design at NW Rugs in Portland, Los Angeles and Las Vegas

Area Rugs and Interior Design Inspiration, Tips and Advice

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

exscapes.wordpress.com/

A DIY, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Simplicity, Mindfulness Blog

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

