‘Mini’ Moodboard Monday: Raised Bed Vegetable Garden

12

March 11, 2013 by Decorum DIYer

OB-Raised Bed Salad Garden

Every year my husband and I scramble to plant items in our vegetable garden.  Two years ago, my husband lovingly constructed two raised beds in our backyard.  Sadly, they haven’t seen much action.  I even made the raised vegetable garden beds part of my exterior upgrade moodboard a few Mondays ago.

We have good intentions, but time gets away from us.  Our only day together as a family is Sunday.  During the winter, Sundays are monopolized by me catching-up with the week’s laundry and grime.  I try to wash, dry, and fold all of the laundry in one, giant marathon.  I also attempt to really clean and tidy the entire home.  Needless this say, it is rare that this occurs through completion, even with my trusty husband at my side.  Never mind having plans like birthday parties, family gathers, grocery shopping, etc….

This year we are determined to plant items in our two raised beds.  We are novices in this respect, but trust nature to do its job.  Of course, first we need a plan.

Well, our plan is to only plant what we want to eat and actually eat (within in reason for our mid-Atlantic climate).  I came across an article in Better Homes & Gardens a few years ago that suggested growing a vegetable garden catering to salads and salsas.  Perfect!  It makes so much sense, plant what you already eat!

These are just a few of the items we hope to squeeze into our teeny-weeney vegetable garden:

  • asparagus
  • lettuces of all sorts and colors
  • cabbage
  • squash
  • zucchini
  • large tomatoes
  • grape and cherry tomatoes (a favorite snack for our family, too)
  • onions
  • garlic
  • herbs of all sorts – cilantro, basil, thyme, rosemary, etc…
  • jalapenos (we like it spicy!)
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • carrots
  • snow peas
  • bell peppers

So many yummy options.  Now, the trick is just to find time to prep the beds, plant the seeds/seedlings, and maintain the raised beds (weeding).  Of course, with the warmer weather also comes the other outside chores that cut into my winter all-day Sunday chores. Sigh….

I hope you have enjoyed this little ‘mini’ Moodboard Monday post.  So, do you have any gardening plans this spring?

Until next time…, happy gardening!

12 thoughts on “‘Mini’ Moodboard Monday: Raised Bed Vegetable Garden

  1. twistnpout says:

    As a matter of fact, we do have gardening plans. My husband bought some fruits and veggies to start a garden in our yard, i’m excited about it as i haven’t done this since I was a child. Is there any benefit to growing them in the beds like you have? We were just going to put them in the ground. Our neighbor just plants in the ground and always has pretty good success. But I sure like the look of the raised beds.

  2. I think the best benefit is that my husband won’t mow the plants when he mows the lawn. Second to that, it looks nice and the kids are more likely not to walk through the garden.

  3. We have a garden, too, although it is not a raised bed. It came with the house and we’ve simply continued to cultivate it. I love my garden and so do my kids, especially my 11 year old. He loves planting things and watching them grow. It’s a living science experiment and there’s something so satisfying about eating vegetables and fruits that you have grown yourself. You’ll have a lot of fun and enjoyment with your garden!

    • I think you put it best. Some of fondest memories are puttering around in my parents’ vegetable garden. There is nothing better than a ripe, Maryland tomato fresh off of the vine. Officially the taste of summer for me.

  4. Donna Frasca says:

    I can’t wait to start my raised beds. I’m going to pick them up, clean them out, lay cardboard down and reposition them. Add dirt and then plant.

  5. whimsyburd says:

    Wow you two will be really healthy

  6. “Plant what you eat.” It sounds so simple, but that concept is somewhat revolutionary to me. Although I have a black thumb, Mark’s is very very green. He loves to work outside and grow things…so we’ve grown basil and rosemary in the past (and by “we’ve” I mean “he has”). But it’d be awesome to be able to grow the ingredients for salsa!

    “Oh, Marrrrrrrk! I have an idea for youuuuuuuuu!”

    (And I totally believe you can successfully prep, plant, and maintain the beds this time around. When you set your mind to something, Christine, you are a force to be reckoned with.)

  7. […] 'Mini' Moodboard Monday: Raised Bed Vegetable Garden … […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 330 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Little Victorian

"Decorating is about creating a quality of life." A Hadley

Letting Go of Keeping Up

Keeping up...it's overrated

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...But don't worry. There's a plan. A 8-year plan filled with bumps, hiccups, and plenty of adventures.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

Rugs and Interior Design at NW Rugs in Portland, Los Angeles and Las Vegas

Area Rugs and Interior Design Inspiration, Tips and Advice

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

exscapes.wordpress.com/

A DIY, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Simplicity, Mindfulness Blog

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

