Faux Bamboo Adieu: Tales of ‘The Ones’ That Got Away

9

February 15, 2013 by Decorum DIYer

Those of us that use Craigslist as our source for an inexpensive way to get the high style we crave have all been there.  You find the PERFECT item and must have it.  You call, e-mail, send a text – whatever it takes to secure your precious item(s).

And then, it happens, you are told that the items have been sold, or worse yet, that there is one person ahead of you and that the seller will contact you, should the first responder not show/not buy.  Epic. Bummer.

This has happened to me quite a lot lately.

First, I found these puppies.  Everything I love – wood, faux bamboo, and a great price of $50 for the pair.  You know my love for faux bamboo, remember this post? They would have been perfect for my one day living room.  I even included them in my moodboard.

3E13Fa3La5Lf5Nf5J8d1sc907e24070381e65-1

They were perfect, as is, but I could always change out the fabric at a later date. Even my husband was on board and rooting for me.

But then it happened, I was told they were already sold within one day of being posted.  Okay, so someone else will enjoy these lovely chairs.  I can live with that.

But then, the next day, I spotted them on Craigslist, again!  Yay for me!  I was about to send the all important “I’ll pick-up today” e-mail, when I noticed the price was now $250 for both (still a discount, but more than I can allow my frugal self to justify).

Then, the kicker.  It was now for sale by the purchaser, a DEALER! Boo!  I tried my best to ask if the price was still $50, pretending I thought it was the same seller, but no dice.  😦

I was so disappointed, but mostly, I was annoyed.  This dealer would not treasure them as I would have.  This dealer was just looking to make a quick, furniture flip and profit the $200.  As is the American way.  Bravo, dealer, bravo.

I’m still sulking, can you not tell?  Oh well, it wasn’t meant to be.

Then, later in the week, I saw this ad.  I had been keeping an eye out for someone else (whom shall remain nameless and unidentified).  I did everything in my power to ‘score’ them on his, uh her, uh the genderless, nameless individual’s behalf, but it was too late. Someone had already agreed to view and possibly purchase the stools the next day.

4 Swivel Bar Stools – $50

image 1image 2
4 swivel bar stools matching. Wooden. Awesome look. 50 bucks. Must go. O.b.o
But then, something even stranger happened.  The seller apparently caught on that the stools were pretty fashionable and worth a pretty penny, so he changed his ad and sent me an e-mail advising that the price was now $125 for all four (again, still a good deal).
After days of waiting for a response, as the seller and the first responder kept rescheduling ‘the appointment’, the ad for the stools disappeared from Craigslist, never to be seen again.
Super. Bummer.
So, the hunt continues for amazing finds at very reasonable prices.  It really is this girl’s only hope to acquire the style I like. As for ‘my friend’, I’ll continue to look for those stools, too.
Has this ever happened to you? Does anyone have a story of ‘the ones that got away’? Or better yet, a story of ‘the ones you thought got away, but the planets aligned and now they are yours’?  I’d love to hear from all of you!
My point:  Be persistent, check Craigslist often, and things will turn out for the better.  Design and decor is a process, even on a tight budget, it will happen…, one day.
Also, folks, this marks my 100th blog post!
Woo hoo for me!  Thank you to all of you that have supported me and joined me with my little journey.  I really enjoy and appreciate the relationships I have made via this blog.  Here’s to 100 more posts!
Please, if you enjoy this blog, please share with your friends and family.
Following this blog is easy.
1. Follow Decorum DIYer via e-mail (upper right hand corner link).
2. Follow the Decorum DIYer facebook page for blog posts and amazing Craigslist items for sale that I share with you!
 (again upper right hand corner link, or https://www.facebook.com/decorumdiy?ref=hl)
I wish everyone a pleasant, and Craigslist/Thrift Store happy weekend!
9 thoughts on “Faux Bamboo Adieu: Tales of ‘The Ones’ That Got Away

  1. What a bummer reading about all your trials and tribulations with craigslist recently. Those first set of chairs were gorgeous and would have been such a steal for $50..what a crappy deal about the dealer grabbing them. Keep your eyes out, you have a knack for a good craiglist find..I know your’re going to be sharing some new found treasure soon!

  2. Ah, the ones that got away… I know the tale well. To be fair, you and I (well, especially you) do catch some great deals with second hand furniture. You always have my permission to reblog or just share stories of furniture victories from TDF blog. I’m thinking specifically of a certain master bedroom set and a set if sweet chairs that live in my house. Happy Craigslisting!

  3. Congrats on your 100th post!

    I share your frustrations all too well. The worst is when you start getting ahead of yourself like, Once I get those chairs, I’ll get this fabric which will match with these other curtains I was thinking about, etc. Hang in there!

  4. Suzz says:

    So I am not in love with stools … but I do really like these. Best of luck to you and your “friend” 🙂

  5. 100 posts?! You go, girl!

    And my forehead was scrunched for you as I read this post. Grrrr…how frustrating! Knowing you, though, you’ll keep you ear to the ground and scoop up another amazing find. Third time’s a charm? We found some chairs on Craigslist that I’m lovin’ right now…hope to get that post up later today. Will be curious to see what you think of them, oh Craigslist Queen.

  6. whimsyburd says:

    I

  7. whimsyburd says:

    Sorry, I bumped my enter key lol and the post went through. Anyways, I am always looking for hanging antique chandeliers on craigslist. i had bought two really nice ones so far for a good price. Under 50.00. I had picked them both up so there was not any shipping cost. So if you ever see any chandeliers give me a shout out (:

  8. […] I’ve also shared with you the ones that have gotten away. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 330 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Little Victorian

"Decorating is about creating a quality of life." A Hadley

Keeping Up With Mrs. Smith

It all started with a fixer-upper...

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...But don't worry. There's a plan. A 8-year plan filled with bumps, hiccups, and plenty of adventures.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

Rugs and Interior Design at NW Rugs in Portland, Los Angeles and Las Vegas

Area Rugs and Interior Design Inspiration, Tips and Advice

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

exscapes.wordpress.com/

A DIY, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Simplicity, Mindfulness Blog

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

