Moodboard Monday: ‘Jones’-ing for Some Indiana

15

November 26, 2012 by Decorum DIYer

It should be no secret to anyone that I am a bit of a nerd, geek, dork, etc….  So, it should also not come as a surprise that I enjoy an “Indiana Jones” flick every now and again.

What isn’t to love about Indiana Jones?

Archaeology is quite interesting to me (not that there is hardcore archaeology being practiced in the movie series).

Before we get started, allow me to remind you of my self-imposed moodboard rules.  Only the following items may be used in creating the moodboard:

  1. paint
  2. free items
  3. items found on my local Craigslist (remember to click the images to be directly linked to the Craigslist ads!)
  4. a pinch of imagination and diy craftiness!

So, Dr. Jones, shall we begin?

This past weekend, I stumbled upon these…

Smithsonian storage cabinets for FREE! My nerdy senses were tingling!

They caught my eye, and I thought about how cool it would be to own them.

However, it wasn’t until that very same night, that the most recent “Indiana Jones” movie just happened to be on a network channel.  My wheels started to turn.  I couldn’t stop thinking about the storage cabinets and knew I had to create a moodboard inspired by “Indiana Jones”.

‘Jones’-ing for Some Indiana

Given that the ‘Indiana Jones’ movie series centers around the 1930’s, I took a decidedly Craftsman/traditional look.  Keep in mind that this room is inspired by, not themed after, ‘Indiana Jones’.  I wanted to create a study/library in which the professor would find himself when he wasn’t swashbuckling against the evil Nazis or avoiding snakes.  If I wanted to make this an ‘Indiana Jones’ themed room, there would be severed monkey heads with brains, insects, snakes, demonic Mayan priests, guns, whips, etc…, not my cup of tea.  Well, at least not when it comes to home decor.

First up, the paint:

Behr’s ‘Hampton Green’ for the walls of the library study.

I think this library/study deserves a bit more than flat, wall paint, so I would first adhere the below textured wallpaper and paint with the dark, forest green, as seen above.  If there were any excess wallpaper, I’d also line the back of any bookcase/shelving units in the textured wallpaper.

Textured wallpaper – 11 rolls @ $12/roll to be painted in Behr’s ‘Hampton Green’

The ceiling needs some attention too, as I don’t like the idea of a white ceiling in this room, so the ceiling would be painted in a dark, complimentary orange/brown color:

Behr’s ‘Acorn Spice’ for the ceiling and backs of any bookcases/shelving units.

As for the sixth wall, in this case, the floor, I’d cover the majority of what I would hope is hardwood with the below area rug.  It has all of the earthy hues of archaeology and incorporates a somewhat Aztec pattern.

8′ 12′ rug in soothing, earthy tones with an Aztec-like pattern. $75

Filling in the room with some furniture:

Dark green, leather set with nailhead trim. : $200
Loveseat

Chair

Ottoman

A few tables:

Tiered, wooden side table: $50

A storage trunk to be used as a coffee table. Would also house many exotic treasures, I’m sure. : $65

Leather-topped, storage trunk to be used as a side table. $30

A library table and chairs:

A library table with a built-in leaf. $450 (This is a huge splurge for me!)

Burgundy, leather chairs for library table. $200 (4 @ $50 each)

Every professor needs a desk:

A large, wooden desk. $250

Leather and wood, executive chair. $40

Campaign-style wall units/bookcases. $275

And for some practicality, as well as library tradition, a library ladder diy-ed from an old wooden ladder, some plumbing fixtures, and casters.  This project would be patterned after a diy-ed version of a barn door – same concept.

Old, wooden ladder to be used as a diy-ed library ladder. $35

Galvanized plumbing pipes and supplies to create the slide rail and ladder hardware. $50 (guesstimate)

Two casters to adhere to the bottom of the wooden ladder. $10 ($5 a caster)

Library card catalog. To be used for actually categorizing books or housing very small archaeological treasures. $500

Smithsonian storage cases. FREE!
Perhaps a bit of the ‘Hampton Green’ paint on the exterior to help blend into the wall?

The draperies are a bit Victorian in their scale, fabric, and style, but I think they work in this dark, library/study.

Luxurious, hunter green, draperies. $150

Wooden blinds to pair with the draperies. $38

Lighting:

Craftsman style pendant/chandelier. $150

Tiffany style pendant light. $150

Vintage desk lamp. $30

Horse head standing lamp. $60

Some art and accessories:

Four, color illustrations. $50 (guesstimate, as these are from an estate sale)

Asian art masks. $30

Wooden face mask. $20

‘Buddha’ bust. $15

Lighted globe on stand. $25 (posting expired)

Another globe. (You can’t have just one!) $5

Silver fan. $34

A chinese wine vessel (at least, that is what I think it is?). $35

The library/study is to be a cocoon that one absorbs him/herself into books, artifacts, and the study of ancient peoples. The room is purposely dark to foster this sense of comfort and quiet.  The furnishings were also chosen to allow for storage of collected, ancient and worldly treasures, not to mention storage and access to all of those books.

Now for the budget.  I usually try to maintain a budget of around $1,000.  However, the items on my local Craigslist that I chose fit the ‘Indian Jones’ inspiration too well and I couldn’t resist, despite the higher price tags.  That said, I decided to embrace the over-spending, as a way to pay tribute the excesses of Black Friday and Cyber Monday.  No matter how hard I try, every year I succumb to the brainless spending of the holidays (well, somewhat), so why should this moodboard be any different?

‘Jones’-ing for Some Indiana Moodboard Budget Breakdown:

  • one gallon of Behr’s ‘Hampton Green’ – $35
  • one gallon of Behr’s ‘Acorn Spice’ – $35
  • textured wallpaper (11 rolls) – $132
  • 8′ x 12′ area rug – $75
  • dark green, leather seating set – $200
  • tiered, wooden side table – $50
  • black storage trunk – $65
  • leather-topped trunk – $30
  • library table – $450 (gulp)
  • burgundy leather chairs (4) – $200
  • executive, wooden desk – $250
  • executive, leather chair – $40
  • campaign-style wall unit/bookcases – $275
  • wooden ladder – $35
  • various galvanized plumbing fixtures – $50 (guesstimate)
  • two casters – $10
  • library card catalog – $500 (double gulp)
  • Smithsonian storage cases – FREE!!! (sure makes the library card catalog’s price tag easier to swallow)
  • Hunter green draperies – $150
  • wooden blinds – $38
  • Craftsman pendant/chandelier – $150
  • Tiffany style pendant light – $150
  • vintage desk lamp – $30
  • horse head standing lamp – $60
  • four, color illustrations – $50 (guesstimate – estate sale)
  • Asian art masks – $30
  • wooden face mask – $20
  • Buddha bust – $15
  • lighted globe on stand – $25
  • table top globe – $5
  • metal fan – $34
  • Chinese wine vessel (?) – $35

Budget total (HUGE GULP): $3,189.00

Admittedly, this is the most expensive moodboard I have ever created.  However, there is a lot of high quality, solid wood furniture in that room.  If only I had the space for a bona fide library/study in my home. (sigh…)

Well, there you have it, another moodboard.  I hope you enjoyed this one.  I got a little carried away, but I rather like it.

Until next time…, happy Craiglisting!

15 thoughts on “Moodboard Monday: ‘Jones’-ing for Some Indiana

  1. Lauren says:

    This is so awesome. I love all of the objects you chose. They work so well together.

  2. Thanks, Lauren. I appreciate your feedback and you taking the time to comment.

  3. I think this is my favorite mood board yet! I totally get the “inspired by” and not “themed” vibe. This is such a great exercise to get the creative juices flowing.

  4. I had seen the ad for the campaign bookcases and thought of you the other day. What a fun surprise to see them featured!

  5. urbancurator says:

    Wow, I really love some of the items you chose – great job!

  6. What an interesting idea. I love those old cabinets with all the drawers. I’m a drawer-addict!

    Thanks for your sweet comments on my project. Have a happy week!

  7. Christine, I love this moodboard! The color palette is divine…and you’ve inspired me with that ladder to look for one myself (Mark and I have a vision for turning an old ladder into shelves). Also, just noticed you added a Moodboard Mondays tab to your menu. Looks fab!

  8. Monique says:

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing the link with me! Most of my items were things I had around, a couple I had to make, and then a few great thrift store finds. Beautiful concept here!

  9. ngnrdgrl says:

    Wonderful theme! I’m really getting the library/archaeology vibe. I love it! Great job!

  10. R.A.D. says:

    i love this! are you able to tell me what color your wooden blinds are? this is so my style & i buy a lot online to save money, but the color on my screen when i bought wooden blinds last time was so off from the color i wanted for my kitchen & i’m normally really good with it & now am scared i’m going to make a bad choice again! if you could help, i would soo appreciate it! 🙂

    • Hello! I just poked around your lovely blog. (Note to self, follow your blog.) I don’t know the color of the blinds, however; I understand your dilemma. I really trust Payless Decor (www.paylessdecor.com), as I have purchased crazy sized blinds/shades from them in the past [although I have yet to share that on the blog]. Here is a link to the PD Outlet (get the overstock ones for cheap!). If you see a color that you think may work (http://www.paylessdecor.com/PD-Outlet/Payless-Decor-Outlet-2-Real-Wood-Blinds.asp), Payless Decor is great at suppling free samples of blinds. Just call/e-mail and ask. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 329 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple
Saw Nail and Paint

Lovingly refinished furniture, vintage and thrifted home decor, urban farming and city chickens

Little Victorian

"Decorating is about creating a quality of life." A Hadley

Letting Go of Keeping Up

Keeping up...it's overrated

The D.i.Y. Amatuer

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Glen House

dreaming, living, loving

Our Corner House

So much to do it hurts

Can't Get There From Here

...But don't worry. There's a plan. A 8-year plan filled with bumps, hiccups, and plenty of adventures.

Martha Leone Design

infusing everyday objects with order and beauty

thehomebarn.ie

The Home Barn is an Irish online lifestyle and home store for all home lovers

Rugs and Interior Design at NW Rugs in Portland, Los Angeles and Las Vegas

Area Rugs and Interior Design Inspiration, Tips and Advice

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

exscapes.wordpress.com/

A DIY, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Simplicity, Mindfulness Blog

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

