Instant Style: Just Add ‘Aqua’

13

December 7, 2012 by Decorum DIYer

The chair is done!

That’s right, my first foray into the seedy world of diy chalk paint has officially resulted in a freshly painted and upholstered chair.

As stated in a previous post, it took me three coats to be happy with the coverage.  I wasn’t going for the worn, chipped paint look, so even, smooth coverage was my goal.  I’m not so sure that chalk paint is the answer to that.

I even recovered the seat.  The foam was old, disintegrating, and smelly, so it also needed replacing.  I used the same diy upholstery method I used on Claire’s glider.

As a reminder, here is the chair, as I found it on the side of the road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And, here’s the finished chair!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sorry, no fancy staging.  It is raining today and I needed to sneak this photo (if you can call it that) during the quick nap that Ascher was forced into.

And the new upholstery, isn’t it just so funky and fresh?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While I am pleased with the results, I am hesitant to go all out with the diy chalk paint method for the coordinating (the chair was a roadside rescue, remember?) desk and hutch.  The desk and hutch would get a lot of abuse and wear, so my gut is telling me to clean, sand, clean, prime, sand, paint, and top coat.  As I said before, I think I have furniture refinishing trust issues. Maybe because I have seen first-hand the havoc that children can bring upon furniture?

I did use some of the leftover diy chalk paint to prep Clairisse’s chair for her birthday party. The chair was made by my father-in-law and given to Clairisse on the occasion of her second birthday.  Claire had drawn all over the chair and I couldn’t get it off (without sanding), so I decided to paint it!

Claire’s ‘Customized’ Chair:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the chair, before:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And now…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really wish I had the desk and hutch completed and ready to show you, but to be honest, I just haven’t had the time.  Aside from my day-to-day Mom duties, I have a birthday party to prep, an entire house to clean (like spring cleaning, clean), holiday gifts to make, a school party to plan, various holiday activities to attend, etc…, if you are a Mom or Dad, you know how it is.

I am itching to finish this desk set.  It will definitely be a labor of love.  Then the problem will be deciding if I should keep it for my little girl, or sell it.  I have too many options in the furniture department for my little Claire.

So, if you are looking to refresh some old furniture and need a quick and perky option…, go with diy aqua chalk paint! (Or, any other fun color!)

Until next time…, happy painting!

LinkButton-1

The Humble Brag Party via One Project Closer’s The Better Half

13 thoughts on “Instant Style: Just Add ‘Aqua’

  1. floridaysmom says:

    Its Beautiful Christine! I love that fabric choose too! I’m with you, between the holidays and Colin’s birthday prepping I have ZERO time for anything creative…so happy you got to give us a sneak peak of whats to come in this aqua set. Can’t wait to see it all done!

  2. I love the aqua! And Clarisse’s chair is just darling. My favorite line: “It is raining today and I needed to sneak this photo (if you can call it that) during the quick nap that Ascher was forced into.” With the plethora of bloggers that have the word “nap” in their title, I’m guessing you’re not alone on that front. Have a great weekend!

    • Ha! No, I am not alone in that title. The problem: my children do not take naps. My daughter stopped napping just in time for me to bring her little brother home from the hospital. Trust me, it has been one crazy year here at the Drumgoole abode. And wait, what?, I decided to blog, too? Oh, if I had your free time….

      • I know this season of life won’t last forever, but I’m enjoying it while I can. When I was teaching, I was working upwards of 80 hours a week – – it was insane (as I’m sure you understand). Not being able to find full-time work when we moved to FL ended up being a blessing; I think I needed the break. I was definitely about to burnout (especially with the paper grading).

        You amaze me with all that you DO accomplish with two little ones around!

      • Thanks, exactly why I started blogging. To keep a list of what I do accomplish. I remember the days without kids. I, too, used to work crazy hours. I think you are right about not finding full-time work being a blessing. Enjoy your friends and family!

  3. Suzz says:

    I love the roadside chair, especially the fabric!

    I think the chair – to be Claire’s or to be sold – if kept, should have some stenciling … not to add to your work-load, of course, just a suggestion (I would have never thought of prior to subscribing to your blog).

  4. Great Job! I also have a roadside stray that I have been wanting to refinish. It is a cute cottage chair missing the seat completely, and had much love from a child writing “I LOVE YOU MOM” in RED permanent market all over its slats. :) I think I will use your suggested technique, give it a whirl. How do you feel this technique will cover the red permanent marker?

    Great color choice, and the fabric is perfect! Love that funk!

  5. I love the fabric you picked out! It’s hard for me getting a quick snapshot in, too. I usually squeeze crafting time in at night so pictures are almost always in bad lighting. Like the other comments suggest, just gotta enjoy this season of motherhood :]

  6. jocieopc says:

    WOah what a huge difference and I LOVE the color choice!

    Thanks for linking up last week at the Humble Brag. Hope you’ll come back tomorrow to link up. Also the Silhouette Cameo giveaway ends this weekend!

  7. Another fellow aqua/turquoise lover, I see! This looks great! I believe that is one color I considered using for my desk also.

  8. [...] Christine @ Decorum DIYer submitted her beautiful aqua chair. [...]

  9. Julie says:

    Love the colour of this chair and such beautiful fabric – great work!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. It couldn't be any easier!

Join 317 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Seach by category…

The Thinking Closet

Better After

One Project Closer

Featured on The Humble Brag

Power of Paint

Somewhat Simple

Somewhat Simple

Community

LifeEclected

Procrastinating my way through DIY projects, my faith journey and clean eating!

ROWE SPURLING PAINT COMPANY

DIY & DESIGN FROM BERMUDA'S OLDEST PAINT STORE

DOVETAILS & Decorum

hand-painted furniture

Teddy And Tottie

crochet, vintage home decor, pets, garden, home life

Laura Makes

Laura enjoys making many things

Diane Gudat

tap dance fun!

Likehearted

Live what you love.

shannondoolingdances

dance artist and educator

Staging by M

Living a big life in a small home.

Vintage Furniture Guru

Stories about furniture.

ReRunRoom

vintage clothing & furniture

The Tamara Blog...

A blog about wonderful things

Medifast Recipes

yourhealthcoaches.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

